Ohio Treasurer Among 6 In GOP Ohio US Senate Race

Jan 5, 2012

State Treasurer Josh Mandel and five other Republicans will face off in this year's Ohio GOP primary for U.S. Senate.

The state's top elections official on Thursday announced the list of Senate contenders who will appear on the March 6 primary ballots.

The winner of the 6-way Republican contest would likely face incumbent U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown, a Democrat, in November in one of the nation's most closely watched Senate races.

Democrat Mark McGinnis is listed as a write-in candidate challenging Brown.

Besides Mandel, who has not yet formally announced his bid, GOP candidates David Dodt of Defiance, Donna Glisman of Graytown, Eric LaMont Gregory of Beavercreek, Michael Pryce of Hudson and Russell Bliss Jr., who's a write-in, also were certified for the ballot.